Organization Title


State of California - EMS Awards Program

Brave. Dedicated. Willing. Reliable. These words describe the 80,000 licensed or certified EMS providers in California. They demonstrate these qualities every day by coming to the aid of others when they are most in need and working to ensure that the EMS system operates well. However, each year, due to circumstance or extraordinary effort, certain individuals among us shine. The EMS Authority seeks to recognize those individuals through the California Emergency Medical Services Awards Program.

The awards program honors special accomplishments, meritorious and heroic acts, innovations or fresh ideas to improve EMS in the state, or other unique and/or significant contributions by EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, EMTs, other medical providers, local officials, members of the law enforcement community, citizens, and first responders. Award categories include Medal of Valor, EMS Cross, Distinguished Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal, Lifesaving Medal, Community Service Award, Inter-service EMS Recognition Medal, Civilian Award for EMS, EMT of the Year Award, EMS Educator of the Year Award, EMS Medical Director of the Year Award and EMS Administrator of the Year Award. Clinical Excellence Awards will be presented at the recipients’ home stations.

The nomination deadline for this year is September 4th by 4:00 p.m. EMS providers, supervisors, and managers are encouraged to nominate any deserving individual for recognition. Time, date and location details will be posted soon. Tickets will be available for purchase in the Fall. Space is limited and registration ends close of business on November 24th.

Thank You to the 2014 Event Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Hospital Council of Northern and Central California




Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors


Contributing Sponsors


In-Kind Sponsors

QuikClot Combat Gauze


View Sponsorship Information

Award Categories

Various levels of personnel comprise the EMS system and an array of categories was created to include them all. Click here to view descriptions of the different awards. The EMS Authority may also present certificates of recognition, appreciation, or other awards as dictated by particular circumstances.


Past Recipients

2014 Award Recipients

2014 Event Photos

2013 Photo Book

2013 Award Ceremony and Photos

2012 Award Ceremony and Photos

2012 Award Recipients

2011 Award Ceremony and Photos

2011 Award Recipients

2010 Award Ceremony and Photos

2010 Award Recipients

2009 Award Recipients

2008 Award Recipients

Press Release

2014 Awards Press Release

2013 Awards Press Release

2012 Awards Press Release

2011 Awards Press Release

2010 Awards Press Release

2009 Awards Press Release

Review Committee

The six individuals who comprise the review committee are members of the California Ambulance Association (CAA), the California Fire Chief's Association (CalChiefs), the Emergency Medical Directors Association of California (EMDAC), the Emergency Medical Services Administrators' Association of California (EMSAAC), the California Police Chiefs Association (CPCA) and one at-large member selected by the EMS Authority.

Award Period

The award period for the nominations for the awards is continuous. Individual and Statewide awards will be made by EMSA. Nominations submitted after September 4th, 2015 will be considered for the 2016 award ceremony.

Contact Information

If you have any questions or need further information please contact External Affairs at (916) 431-3700 or e-mail.

Connect With Us