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*SSN is mandatory as authorized by H&S Code, Division 2.5, Section 1797.172(c). It will only be used to establish the identity of applicant
and to determine if applicant is subject to denial of licensure.

National Registry Number Expiration Date
State(s) in which you are or were certified/licensed

Effective and expiration dates of certificate(s)/license(s)

Date Applicant Fingerprint Cards (FD-258) mailed to the Department of Justice
(If Live Scan was used, attach the second copy of the Live Scan Applicant Submission Form.)

If known, list the name(s) and address(es) of any California EMS Provider(s) with whom you will be employed when
licensed.

Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor offense in California or in any other state or place,
including entering a plea of nolo contendere or no contest and, including any conviction which has been
expunged (set aside) or records sealed under Penal Code Section 1203.4? YES NO

Are there any criminal charges currently pending against you? YES NO (You must answer these
questions or your application will be returned.) If yes, attach a detailed statement describing the charge(s)/conviction(s)
date, location, court, sentence served, parole or probation if any. You may attach applicable certified court documents and
police reports to help expedite the review of your application.

Have you ever had a healthcare certification, accreditation, or license denied, suspended, revoked, or placed on
probation, or are you under investigation at this time? YES NO

(You must answer this question or your application will be returned.) If yes, you must enclose with this application a
written explanation that describes the action, any corrective action, and/or remediation as a result of the action.
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| hereby certify under penalty of perjury that all informatio n on this ap plication is true and correct to the b est of my
knowledge and belief, and | understand that any falsification or omission of material facts may cause forfeiture on my part
of all rights to paramedic licensure in the state of California. | understand all information on this application is subject to
verification, and | hereby give my ex press pe rmission for the EMS Authori ty to conta ct any pe rson or agency f or
information related to my role and function as a paramedic in California.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE
PHONE NUMBER: Home ( ) - Work ( ) -
E-MAIL ADDRESS Cell ( ) -

Out of State Paramedic Challenge Instructions/Requirements

v' Fillin all requested information on the front and back of this application and sign and date the application in ink. All
incomplete applications will be returned.

v Provide documentation that National Registration is current. (A copy of your National Registry Card will do.)

v" Provide documentation of current or prior state paramedic licensure or certification (not mandatory for California State
Licensure).

v" For applicants whose paramedic training occurred outside of the country, provide a copy of paramedic training
program completion record.

v" Provide documentation of training hours that meet California requirements which includes: Didactic 320 hours,
Clinical 160 hours, and Field Internship 480 hours which includes 40 Advanced Life Support (ALS) field contacts. If
training hours do not meet California requirements, provide evidence that the training program meets or exceeds the
U. S. Department of Transportation (DOT) paramedic curriculum or the National EMS Education Standards .(Not
needed if you went to paramedic school in CA)

v Provide documentation that 40 ALS field contacts were included as part of initial training or you may submit a letter
from an employer, training program, or medical director verifying that you have successfully completed 40 ALS field
contacts through employment or other training. An ALS contact is the performance of one or more ALS skills, except
cardiac monitoring and basic CPR, on a patient.(Not needed if you went to paramedic school in CA)

v' Submit a completed Applicant Fingerprint Card (FD-258) for a state and federal criminal history check to the California
Department of Justice (DOJ), or if you are already residing in California you may submit your fingerprints by using a
Live Scan agency for submitting your fingerprints for the criminal background check. Both a fingerprint card and a
Request for Live Scan Applicant Submission form are enclosed with instructions, please read them carefully.

v Submit pages 1 and 3 of the enclosed 1S-01 form (Statement of Citizenship, Alienage, and Immigration Status) and
submit it along with one piece of documentation as described on pages 4-8 of the 1S-01 form, unless you were
previously licensed in California and this documentation has already been submitted.

v' Complete the top portion of the Request for Verification of EMT-Paramedic Status and send a copy to each state in
which you are or were certified/licensed. Please have them complete the bottom portion of the form and return it
directly to the Emergency Medical Services Authority at the address on the bottom of the form.

v' Pay all applicable fees by check, money order or cashier’'s check, payable to the EMS Personnel Fund:

Initial Application Fee $100
Licesure Fee $195
State Licensing Match System (SLMS) Fee $ 5
Total $300

Individuals who are currently enrolled in a paramedic training program which meets or exceeds U. S. Department of
Transportation standards or who are new paramedic training program graduates are not eligible to apply for licensure until
they are registered as a paramedic with the National Registry of EMTs.
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